Categories
Maker Forte

Good Times Birthday! {Maker Forte}

The Marshmallow Paste makes this such a fun card!

Happy Friday crafty friends! Today I am sharing a fun birthday card using a few of the Maker Forte’s new February releases! Sometimes you just need a snarky birthday card and this one fits the bill!

I absolutely love the new Have Your Cake layer stencil!!! There are three parts to this stencil which makes adding multiple colors so easy. I did want to make the candles a different color than the cake part so I started out by masking the candles with washi tape. 

Then, I placed that stencil layer on a 6”x 8” piece of ultra white cardstock and ink blended Flat White Color Hive ink over the stencil. 

Next, I water colored the candles using a water brush and the new ink colors that I smooshed onto my glass mat. I rotated Sugar Plum, Vegas Strip, and Cotswald Green Color Hive ink on each cake. 

To finish the candles, I put the next stencil layer over the cakes and blended Red Leicester Color Hive ink through the flame stencil.

I really love the next part! Using the icing layer of the stencil, I added Marshmallow Paste through the stencil using a palette knife and put the stenciled panel to the side to dry.

Once it was dry, I cut the panel into four equal pieces (3”hight x 3 3/4” width) and heat the Marshmallow Paste so it would puff up. 

Before assembling the card, I stamped the sentiment from the Sassy Sentiment stamp set on the lower part a 5 1/4” x 4” piece of Hyde Park cardstock using Eclipse Black ink. I also stamped the “Happy Birthday” sentiment from the You’re Truly Fabulous stamp set on a piece of Eclipse Black cardstock using Clear Color Hive embossing ink and white embossing powder. Then, I trimmed down the sentiment. Finally, I assembled the card by adhering the stenciled panel to the top of the Hyde park Panel and added the Happy Birthday strip to cover the edge of the stenciled panel. Then, I attached that to an A2 Top Fold card base.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you try out this stencil. It is perfect to use with Marshmallow Paste!

Click ->here <- to find out about this wonderful upcoming card making event!

The Card Makers Success Summit is a FREE three day {February 17th-20th} online event! You have the option to pay for life time access, however, that is not required to watch the online classes. There are so many amazing card makers teaching the classes! Daniel West, Justine Honey, Laurie Willison and Tiffany Solorio just to name a few! Click my ->link <- to find out more!!

By Kimberly Boliver

Hi there! I would like to invite you to My Creative Chaos. I have been a papercrafter for over 2 decades and love to share my creations. While I like to think my projects will go smoothly, there always seems to be something that goes wrong. I will share with you the "oops" and how I worked them out in case you run into the same crafting predicament. You can find me on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube and my blog. If you ever have a question about a technique, please ask. I love to help when I can.

Leave a comment