Categories
Uncategorized

Hello Friend! {CLC Guest Designer}

Hello fellow caffeinated papercrafters! I am so honored to be guest designing today on the Coffee Loving Cardmakers blog! As papercrafters, we tend to “collect” supplies and do not always get to use everything we acquire or forget what we have. My card today is featuring a set that I have not used nearly as much as I have wanted to but have had it in my stash for years. 

To make this card, I did not use many supplies. I started out by dry embossing the Tim Holtz “On the Go” embossing folder on watercolor paper. 

Next, I added water in the center of the embossed panel using a paintbrush. 

While the water was still wet, I picked up Antique Linen Distress ink from my glass mat with the paint brush and brushed it over the wet area on the panel. Then, I did the same thing with Vintage Photo Distress ink, but I didn’t go all the way to the end as I wanted the outside color to stay lighter.

I dried the ink completely with my heat tool for the next step. I wanted all of the fun writing from the stamped image on the card and the die only cuts out the coffee cup image. So using my Misti, I stamped the coffee image from Tim Holtz Coffee Time set on the panel using Black Soot Ranger Distress Archival Ink. Hindsight is 20/20. I should have stamped the image before embossing the cardstock so the image stamped completely, but I lucked out and got a complete image over the bumps. 

 Then, I stamped the coffee image 2 times on a piece of watercolor paper using the Black Soot Archival ink and die cut it. I needed the second image to die cut the coffee sleeve image. To watercolor them, I used the leftover Antique Linen and Vintage Photo ink on my glass mat. I wanted to add blue to the Coffee sleeve so I used Speckled Egg and Stormy Sky Distress Ink

While the images dried, I heat embossed the sentiment on black cardstock and die cut it. Then I assembled the card. I used foam tape behind the embossed panel, the coffee cup and the coffee sleeve for dimension. To finish the card, I added foam tape to the back of the embossed sentiment.

Thank you so much for stopping by! I hope I inspired you to pull out some of those stamps that were forgotten! Have a great weekend!

Kimberly

By Kimberly Boliver

Hi there! I would like to invite you to My Creative Chaos. I have been a papercrafter for over 2 decades and love to share my creations. While I like to think my projects will go smoothly, there always seems to be something that goes wrong. I will share with you the "oops" and how I worked them out in case you run into the same crafting predicament. You can find me on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube and my blog. If you ever have a question about a technique, please ask. I love to help when I can.

Leave a comment