Categories
Maker Forte

The Bunny Patch Shrinks! {Maker Forte}

See How I used shrink plastic to create Shaker pieces from stamps!

Happy Friday! I have a super fun shaker card to share using the new Bunny Patch Stamp Set and Basket Weave Stencil. To make this extra cute, I used the stamps from Bunny Patch to make shrinky dinks for the shaker pieces!

To make the shrinky dink pieces, I stamped the images on ‘sanded’ shrink plastic. I had to use Archival Ink to stamp on the plastic. 

So the ink didn’t smear, I needed to dry it. But, this gets tricky, because the heat will shrink the plastic. So I used a blowdryer on a low setting. I kept moving the dryer as well as blowing away from the plastic to let it cool as I was drying the ink. Then, I cut the images out.

I followed the shrink plastic directions to preheat my toaster oven and shrunk the pieces.

How cute are they??? Once the pieces were done, I started working on the card. I used the new Basket Weave stencil and blended Flat White Color Hive ink on a panel of Cappuccino cardstock

Next, I stamped the sentiment “Happy Easter” from Bunny Patch on the panel using Flat White Color Hive ink. Then, I die cut the shaker area out using the new Well Said dies which are awesome for also die cutting the images out of the Simple Saying Packs

Next, I stamped a few of the images from Bunny Patch using Eclipse Black Color Hive ink and colored them with my alcohol markers.

To finish the card, I added the acetate to cover the hole from the die cut. Then, I added foam tape for the dimension for the shaker pieces to move around. I placed a small bit of sequins and the shrinky dink pieces on the card base that I cut from Cappuccino cardstock and carefully attached the top panel with the foam tape over the card base. Finally, I added the images that I had colored. I just love these bunnies and all the little mushrooms! So cute!!

Thank you smooch for stopping by!

Kimberly

By Kimberly Boliver

Hi there! I would like to invite you to My Creative Chaos. I have been a papercrafter for over 2 decades and love to share my creations. While I like to think my projects will go smoothly, there always seems to be something that goes wrong. I will share with you the "oops" and how I worked them out in case you run into the same crafting predicament. You can find me on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube and my blog. If you ever have a question about a technique, please ask. I love to help when I can.

Leave a comment